Hackensack LSD Defense Lawyers
Attorneys for Possession and Distribution of Acid in Bergen County, New Jersey
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide, more commonly known as “acid” or “LSD,” is an extremely dangerous psychedelic drug. In New Jersey, LSD is classified as Schedule I controlled dangerous substance. This means that it has a high potential for abuse and addiction and that it has no accepted medical uses. Possession or distribution of any amount of LSD in New Jersey is an extremely serious charge punishable by extensive jail time and fines, even for just a small quantity. The degree of your LSD charges and severity of the resulting sentence will depend on multiple factors, including the amount you had on your person, whether you possessed it for personal use or distribution, and where the offense occurred.
If you have been charged with possession or distribution of acid in Bergen County, New Jersey, the most important mitigating factor in your case will likely prove to be the criminal defense lawyer you choose. The attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm have extensive experience handling drug charges for clients in Hackensack, Teaneck, Paramus, Fort Lee, Lodi, Rutherford, and throughout Bergen County. Led by renowned criminal defense attorney Travis J. Tormey, our lawyers will fight for your rights in court and explore every possible strategy to exonerate you, reduce your charges, or minimize the punishments you face. To discuss your specific LSD charges with a skilled drug defense lawyer, contact our offices in Hackensack today at (201)-330-4979. You can also fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation.
Possession of LSD in New Jersey
Due to the dangers of LSD use, your possession or distribution case will be prosecuted much more harshly than other drugs like marijuana. Possession of any amount of LSD will be treated as a third-degree crime at minimum in New Jersey. This charge indicates that the quantity you possessed was intended for personal use. In general, personal use involves a relatively small amount of LSD.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, you could face 3-5 years’ incarceration for simple possession of LSD. However, if this is your first criminal offense, you may be eligible for pre-trial intervention or another diversionary program that will allow you to avoid jail time and keep a clean record. This is typically not the case when charged with distribution or intent to distribute.
LSD Distribution & Intent to Distribute in NJ
As the quantity of LSD you are caught with increases, so does the likelihood of a distribution or intent charge, which falls under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5 and also includes the manufacture of the drug. The distribution of or intent to distribute 100 milligrams or more of LSD will lead to a first-degree charge and up to 20 years in jail. Less than 100 milligrams will trigger a second-degree charge, which is subject to a maximum 10-year prison sentence. This does not include the hundreds of thousands of dollars in potential fines or the extra charges you will face if the offense occurred within 1,000 feet of a school zone or within 500 feet of a park or public property
Defending LSD Charges in New Jersey
The first step in defeating acid possession and distribution of LSD charges should always be to examine the prosecution’s case against you. This includes reviewing all of the evidence, scrutinizing police procedure and questioning the legality of any search and seizure that occurred. You have rights that must always be observed, and any violation of these rights may lead to a dismissal of your case. The next goal is to explore any opportunities for a plea bargain, downgrade in charges, reduced sentencing or potential admittance into a diversionary program. This entire process is deeply involved, time-consuming and requires the expertise of a skilled and experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.
Contact our Paramus LSD Defense Attorneys for a Free Consultation
If you or someone you love has been charged with possessing or selling LSD (acid) in Bergen County, NJ, you deserve to have the highest quality legal representation. The drug defense attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are thoroughly prepared to help you achieve the best possible outcome. We will aggressively fight to prove your innocence and if necessary, negotiate the most favorable deal we can to resolve your case. For a free consultation about your acid charges, contact us at (201)-330-4979. We are also happy to schedule an appointment with you at our conveniently located of in Hackensack. Call right away for immediate assistance.