Englewood NJ Speeding Defense Attorneys
Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyers in Bergen County, New Jersey
The distinguished criminal and drunk driving (DWI) defense lawyers at Hackensack’s Tormey Law Firm have spent years serving on behalf of clients charged with offenses including driving while intoxicated (DWI), leaving the scene of an accident, and reckless driving in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey, in towns such as Fort Lee, Mahwah, and Lodi. With offices conveniently located in the center of Hackensack’s criminal justice complex, Mr. Tormey and his fellow attorneys appear in courts throughout Bergen County on a daily basis, employing their specifically-formulated defense strategies to achieve the most desirable outcomes for their clients. To speak with one of these talented defense lawyers free of charge, contact the Hackensack, New Jersey offices of The Tormey Law Firm at (201)-330-4979. Initial consultations are always provided at no cost and we are available immediately to provide a free consultation about your case.
Speeding Tickets in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 39:4-98
Title 39 governs all traffic violations in the State of New Jersey. Specifically, speeding violations are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-98, which provides, in pertinent part:
§ 39:4-98. Rates of speed
Subject to the provisions of R.S. 39:4-96 and R.S. 39:4-97 and except in those instances where a lower speed is specified in this chapter, it shall be prima facie lawful for the driver of a vehicle to drive it at a speed not exceeding the following:
a. Twenty-five miles per hour, when passing through a school zone during recess, when the presence of children is clearly visible from the roadway, or while children are going to or leaving school, during opening or closing hours;
b. (1) Twenty-five miles per hour in any business or residential district;
(2) Thirty-five miles per hour in any suburban business or residential district;
c. Fifty miles per hour in all other locations, except as otherwise provided in the “Sixty-Five MPH Speed Limit Implementation Act,” pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1997, c.415.
Speeding Tickets and Potential Penalties in New Jersey
Speeding violations in New Jersey will result in motor vehicle points on your license. The number of points depends on the rate of speed:
- 1-14 mph over the speed limit: Two (2) motor vehicle points
- 14-29 mph over the speed limit: Four (4) motor vehicle points
- 30 mph or more over the speed limit: Five (5) motor vehicle points
It is imperative that you avoid points on your license for a number of reasons. First, points will cause your insurance rates to go up. Further, if you accumulate between 10 and 12 points on your license, your license may be suspended by the DMV. Finally, if you accumulate points, you will also be assessed motor vehicle surcharges by the DMV. As a result, it is crucial that you contact an experienced traffic ticket attorney to avoid these points on your license.
Call the Tormey Law Firm in Hackensack, NJ Today for a Free Consultation
For additional information and a free consultation about your speeding ticket in New Jersey, please contact us anytime at (201)-330-4979, or use our online contact form. Our Hackensack office is conveniently located in the heart of Bergen County, just steps from the Hackensack Municipal Court and Bergen County Superior Court. One of our criminal defense attorneys will be happy to discuss your case over the phone or to schedule an appointment to meet with you in person.