Dumont NJ Juvenile Megan’s Law Defense Attorneys
Juvenile Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers in Bergen County, New Jersey
Travis Tormey is an experienced criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI) attorney who represents clients charged with various sexual offenses throughout Bergen County, including in Allendale, Cliffside Park, and Dumont. Mr. Tormey has handled thousands of criminal cases in his years of practice, including appearances in Bergen County Superior Court (felonies) and Municipal Court (misdemeanors). Moreover, Mr. Tormey was quoted in the Asbury Park Press as a legal resource on Megan’s Law. He has extensive experience with both juvenile offenses and sex crimes. He will use his invaluable experience as well as his long-standing relationships with local prosecutors and judges to get the best possible result in your juvenile sex crimes case. Contact his office anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.
Here is a review from one of our many satisfied clients who had a juvenile Megan’s Law matter in Bergen County Superior Court where the case was dismissed:
Posted by Amy
“Mr. Tormey is a consummate professional. Our case was sensitive and complicated and unusually lengthy for a juvenile case. For 8 months Mr. Tormey faithfully worked our case and never failed to show for court once. Punctual, disciplined, knowledgeable, patient and responsive there aren’t enough words of admiration and gratitude I can apply to him. My son’s case was resolved in our favor and we owe it to Mr. Tormey’s unwavering professionalism. I choose him based on previous reviews and I am so pleased I did as the excellent reviews are absolutely warranted. He made an unbearable situation so much more bearable with his calm demeanor. I highly recommend Travis to anyone needing a juvenile defense attorney. He knows the law and he knows how to navigate the judicial jungle. Without a doubt, one of the best attorneys out there. Thank you Travis for giving my son his life back, I will forever be gratefully indebted.”
Juvenile Sex Crimes in New Jersey: Megan’s Law and Juvenile Offenders
Megan’s Law is commonly known as sex offender registration. It provides that a convicted sex offender in New Jersey must register his address with the local police and provide updates about any changes in his address, his employment, his schooling, or any other significant changes in his life. For certain sex crimes in New Jersey, if you are adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile, you will be required to register under Megan’s Law. However, in some cases, you may apply to be removed from Megan’s Law when you reach the age of 18.
The sex offender registry law can be found in the New Jersey Code at 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-21. Megan’s Law was implemented on October 31, 1994 and is applicable to any defendant convicted, adjudicated delinquent, or found not guilty by reason of insanity for any of the following criminal offenses:
- Luring or Enticing a Minor
- Criminal Sexual Contact (if the victim is under the age of 18)
- Kidnapping (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- Criminal Restraint (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- False Imprisonment (where the victim is under 18 and the offender is not the parent)
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
- Kidnapping (where the victim is less than 16 years old)
- Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by Engaging in Sexual Contact with a Minor
- Endangering the Welfare of a Minor by knowingly receiving for the purpose of selling, procuring, manufacturing, giving, or providing through any means (including the internet) any photos, films, or videos which depict a child engaging in a prohibited sexual act or in the simulation of such an act
Megan’s Law Removal for Certain Juvenile Crimes in New Jersey
If you or a loved one has been convicted of a sex crime as a juvenile in New Jersey, you may be eligible to apply to be removed from Megan’s Law upon reaching the age of 18. However, certain offenses are not eligible for Megan’s Law removal. Contact our Hackensack offices anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation about your eligibility to be removed from Megan’s Law in New Jersey.