Fort Lee Possession and Distribution of Methadone Defense Attorneys
Methadone Drug Charges Bergen County – Help
Methadone can be prescribed to treat pain, but it is typically used for detoxification purposes. Methadone may be legally prescribed to treat addictions to heroin and morphine. Methadone eases withdrawal symptoms for addicts, making it easier for them to recover from their addictions. The drug is prescribed in various forms, including tablets, liquid form, and as a solution for injection. Unfortunately, in addition to its legal uses, methadone is also a popular “recreational use” drug in New Jersey because it is produces a high and is highly addictive and habit-forming. Among the street names for methadone are “cookies,” “dollies,” “fizzies,” “jungle juice,” “methadose,” and “wafers.” Because methadone is a highly addictive controlled dangerous substance (CDS), New Jersey prosecutors often seek to impose the maximum allowable penalties in methadone cases.
The Tormey Law Firm is a trial team of aggressive criminal defense lawyers, including a former New Jersey prosecutor who has handled countless drug cases in his distinguished career. Our defense attorneys have extensive experience defending clients against drug charges, including marijuana distribution, possession of cocaine, and possession of CDS in a motor vehicle in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey, including in Paramus, Teaneck, and Leonia. We have successfully represented numerous clients charged with Methadone possession and intent to distribute Methadone. We encourage you to check out just a few of our successful results in the courtroom.
If you’ve been charged with a drug-related offense in New Jersey, call us today at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation about your case. And continue reading this page for more information about Methadone charges in New Jersey.
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5: Methadone Law in New Jersey
In New Jersey, it is illegal to carry prescription drugs and certain medications unless you are also in possession of a valid prescription. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, possession and/or distribution of methadone is prohibited unless carried out by a licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist. As set forth by the Controlled Substance Act, methadone is a Schedule II controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Schedule II drugs have an accepted medical use but a high potential for abuse that can lead to physical and psychological dependence. The penalties for possession or distribution of methadone vary, depending on the number of units that are seized.
Second Degree: Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge is second degree intent to distribute methadone. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more methadone units and does so for financial gain. If convicted of this charge, a person could be looking at five (5) to ten (10) years in New Jersey State Prison, with a presumption of incarceration. Additionally, a conviction on this charge could result in a $300,000.00 fine.
Third Degree: Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 methadone units without a valid prescription is classified as a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of methadone, you might be looking at a sentence of between three (3) and five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.00.
Fourth Degree: Methadone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer units, it is a fourth degree felony, punishable by up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Methadone Possession
As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer units of methadone is a disorderly persons offense. This essentially means that if you are caught with even a single unit outside the bottle or container in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of methadone. Moreover, just being under the influence of methadone in public without a valid prescription can be classified as a disorderly persons offense. If convicted of this charge, you may be looking at up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Methadone to a Police Officer
Another related charge is failure to turn over methadone to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), failing to turn over drugs to police is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors use in a methadone case. If convicted of this charge, you face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000.00 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Contact the Bergen County NJ Defense Lawyers at The Tormey Law Firm Today
Methadone charges need to be addresses expediently and aggressively. Hiring a defense attorney can provide you with the leverage you need to achieve your desired outcome. Our drug defense lawyers are prepared to examine the circumstances of your arrest and to undermine the validity of the search if possible. If the search was conducted illegally, then the entire case against you could be thrown out. Additionally, if you are facing Methadone charges in New Jersey, you may be eligible for a diversionary program such as the Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) program or the conditional discharge program, depending on your prior record (if any) and the degree of your charges. To learn more about how to fight prescription drug charges, contact our offices anytime at (201)-330-4979. We will always provide you with a free consultation about your case.