The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) in New Jersey
Palisades Interstate Park NJ Drunk Driving Defense Lawyers
The attorneys at Bergen County’s Tormey Law Firm have extensive experience representing clients charged with alcohol-related offenses, including refusal to submit to a breath test, DWI in a school zone, and leaving the scene of an accident. Mr. Tormey and his defense lawyers appear in New Jersey courts on a regular basis, including courtrooms in Elmwood Park, Palisades Interstate Park, and Fort Lee. In addition, Mr. Tormey is one of just a handful of New Jersey attorneys who are certified Alcotest 7110 operators. The Alcotest is the breath testing device used by law enforcement throughout the state. He knows the components of the machine, how it works, and if there are any issues with the functioning of the breath testing device. This knowledge and expertise can be used to attack the reliability of the breath test result in your case.
With offices conveniently located in Hackensack, the skilled attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are always available to provide free consultations. Simply call (201)-330-4979. You can also use the online contact form or schedule an appointment to meet with us at our offices. Also, to learn more about New Jersey DWI Law, view Mr. Tormey’s information DWI series on YouTube.
The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (“IDRC”) in New Jersey
If you have been convicted of a DWI in New Jersey, you must participate in a program at the Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC). For a first offense DWI, the court will sentence you to twelve (12) to forty-eight (48) hours in the IDRC. The program provides for mandatory alcohol and highway safety education courses. IDRC will also evaluate each offender for alcohol or drug problems and if they determine treatment is needed you will be referred to a mandatory additional sixteen (16) week minimum treatment program.
There are IDRC centers in each county in New Jersey for first and third time DWI offenders and three regional IDRC centers for second time DWI offenders. The IDRC keeps track of your compliance and will notify the court and DMV if you do not complete your required IDRC classes. This will result in your license being suspended indefinitely until you finally do the IDRC and the court can impose jail as punishment for non-compliance.
For a first offense DWI, typically you complete two (2) six-hour alcohol awareness classes over a weekend period. For a second offense DWI, you typically serve 48 hours straight (in lieu of the two (2) days jail that must be imposed on a second offense). For a third offense, ninety (90) days of the mandatory 180 day jail sentence can be served at an IDRC approved in-patient rehabilitation center.
Alcotest 7110 Certified DWI Defense Lawyers
In New Jersey, the state uses the Alcotest 7110 breath testing device to prosecute DWI cases which is manufactured by Draeger Safety. Travis J. Tormey attended a seminar in 2011 to obtain his Alcotest 7110 certification. The seminar was given to only about 20 lawyers in New Jersey and was conducted by the vice president of Draeger Safety. Mr. Tormey is now trained on the Alcotest 7110 MKIII-C Version NJ3.11’s analytical system, components, and peripherals, as well as how to operate the instrument and perform a New Jersey specific breath test sequence. As such, Mr. Tormey is licensed to operate the breath testing device used in all New Jersey DWI cases and can utilize this expertise to determine the admissibility of the breath test result in your case.
Schedule a Free Consultation with an Experienced Lyndhurst, NJ DWI Defense Lawyer
Do not risk your freedom or your future. You do not want to have to spend the rest of your life explaining a DWI conviction to friends, family, co-workers, and employers. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving in New Jersey, contact the Tormey Law Firm today at (201)-330-4979. You can also fill out our online contact form to arrange a free, in-person meeting at our Hackensack offices to discuss your charges.