Englewood NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Attorneys
Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Lawyers in Bergen County, New Jersey
Any type of unwanted contact with another person’s intimate areas can result in felony charges for criminal sexual contact in New Jersey. Brushing up against someone for the purpose of sexual gratification could lead to criminal sexual contact charges. If the victim is a young child, the charges can be elevated to aggravated criminal sexual contact. At the very least, criminal sexual contact is a fourth degree felony offense with punishments that include up to 18 months in prison. More severe cases may be charged as third degree aggravated criminal sexual contact, warranting a possible prison term of 3 to 5 years. Considering the impacts of a criminal sexual contact conviction, it is vital to mount a compelling defense of your innocence when facing these charges in Bergen County or anywhere else in New Jersey.
The Tormey Law Firm in Hackensack, New Jersey is a criminal defense team with lawyers who understand how sex crime accusations are made and how to defend against these allegations. Founding attorney Travis J. Tormey has established a strong reputation throughout the state, in part through his impressive work defending individuals against a wide variety of sex charges, including criminal sexual contact, endangering the welfare of a child, and aggravated sexual assault.
For example, Mr. Tormey was recently successful in having a wrongfully accused sex offender exonerated in the Ocean County Superior Court after more than a decade. He has also been successful numerous times in having individuals removed from Megan’s Law registration requirements. In addition, during his time at the United States Attorney’s Office, Mr. Tormey worked with the sex crimes unit on federal prosecutions. Due to his impressive experience, Mr. Tormey is considered an authority in this area and has been featured in the Asbury Park Press as a legal resource on sex crimes and Megan’s Law in New Jersey.
At The Tormey Law Firm, regularly representing clients in towns such as Montvale, Lodi, and Garfield and concentrating solely on criminal defense provides us with a unique and powerful edge, which we use to benefit our clients every day. With offices conveniently located in the heart of Bergen County, one of our attorneys is always available immediately to provide you with a free consultation. Contact us at (201)-330-4979 to learn more about the charges and penalties you may be facing. Understanding the nature of the charges against you is truly the first step to achieving a positive outcome.
Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey: § N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3
The New Jersey statute which governs criminal sexual contact is N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3. The statute provides, in pertinent part:
a. An actor is guilty of aggravated criminal sexual contact if he commits an act of sexual contact with the victim under any of the circumstances set forth in 2C:14-2 a.(2) through (7).
Aggravated criminal sexual contact is a crime of the third degree.
b. An actor is guilty of criminal sexual contact if he commits an act of sexual contact with the victim under any of the circumstances set forth in section 2C:14-2 c. (1) through (4).
Criminal sexual contact is a crime of the fourth degree.
Penalties for Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey
Criminal sexual contact is a lesser included offense under aggravated sexual assault, which is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2. As such, if a defendant commits an act under any of the circumstances set forth in N.J.S.A 2C:14-2, the sexual assault statute, but the act of sexual contact does not give rise to the level necessary to commit a sexual assault, the defendant will be charged with criminal sexual contact under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3. This can be a crime of the third degree or the fourth degree, depending on the circumstances of the alleged crime. It can also give rise to Megan’s Law registration requirements and/or community supervision for life. Third degree crimes in New Jersey are punishable by a term of incarceration ranging from 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison, while fourth degree crimes may entail a prison sentence of up to 18 months.
Contact an Experienced New Jersey Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer for Help
If you or a loved one has been charged with criminal sexual contact or another sex-related offense in New Jersey, contact our Hackensack office location anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.