Tenafly NJ Underage Consumption of Alcohol Defense Attorneys
Underage Drinking Defense Lawyers with Offices in Hackensack, New Jersey
Underage drinking is a misdemeanor charge in New Jersey, known as a disorderly persons offense, punishable by a $1000 fine, six months in the Bergen County jail, and a permanent crminal charge on your record. In addition, if it is committed in a motor vehicle, you are also facing a suspension of your NJ driving privileges. Travis J. Tormey is an experienced criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI) attorney who represents clients charged with various underage alcohol-related offenses, including underage possession of alcohol, underage DWI, and providing alcohol to minors in Tenafly, Saddle Brook, and Saddle River. With offices conveniently located in Paramus and Morristown, Mr. Tormey appears in courts throughout northern New Jersey on a daily basis. Mr. Tormey focuses his practice entirely on criminal defense and drunk driving, which has allowed him to perfect his craft in these specific areas of law. As evidence of Mr. Tormey’s expertise, consider that he has been cited as a legal resource by several New Jersey newspapers, including the Daily Record and the Asbury Park Press, as well as AOL News. Feel free to contact his office anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.
Underage Possession and Consumption of Alcohol in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15
The New Jersey statute which governs a criminal offense for underage possession of alcohol is N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. This statute provides, in pertinent part:
a. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense, and shall be fined not less than $ 500.00.
b. Whenever this offense is committed in a motor vehicle, the court shall, in addition to the sentence authorized for the offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privilege of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the Division of Motor Vehicles stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
Underage Alcohol Possession and Consumption of Alcohol Penalties in NJ
As the above statute indicates, underage possession of alcohol is a disorderly persons criminal offense resulting in the following if convicted:
- Fine: Up to $1,000.00 ($500.00 minimum)
- Jail: Up to six (6) months in the county jail
- License Suspension: Six (6) months if offense committed in a motor vehicle
- Criminal Record: Permanent Criminal Record (which may be expunged after five (5) years in some cases)
Contact our Bergen County Criminal Defense Law Firm for a Free Consultation
As a young person, it is essential to avoid a permanent criminal charge on your record, which can negatively affect future employment and educational opportunities. Mr. Tormey and the attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm, with offices in Bergen County, New Jersey, have handled thousands of criminal cases and will use their legal experience to guide your case through the system en route to securing the best possible outcome. Contact their Hackensack offices anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.