Bergen County Kidnapping Defense Lawyers
With Offices in Hackensack, New Jersey
Kidnapping is an incredibly serious crime in New Jersey, outlawed by statute N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1. It is a first or second degree felony, known as an indictable crime, given the particular circumstances. If charged as a crime of the second degree, the punishments could include up to 10 years of incarceration. When certain factors add to the seriousness of the offense, kidnapping is upgraded to a first degree crime, warranting penalties that can include between 15 years and up to a lifetime in prison. Beyond the prison exposure which is severe, kidnapping charges entail mandatory periods of parole ineligibility under the No Early Release Act. Considering all of this, it is imperative to find the most experienced criminal defense attorney to defend you or a loved one when charged with a kidnapping offense.
The Tormey Law Firm is a team of highly knowledgeable criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI) attorneys who represent clients throughout Bergen County, New Jersey. With countless successes behind them, these well-regarded defense lawyers have represented clients charged with kidnapping, aggravated assault, weapons offenses, and many others, in towns such as Teaneck, South Hackensack, Wallington, Teaneck, Lodi, Lyndhurst, and Franklin Lakes. With offices conveniently located in downtown Hackensack, steps from the Hackensack Municipal Court and the Bergen County Courthouse, Mr. Tormey and the attorneys at his law firm are passionate about defending the liberties of the accused. If you or someone you love has been charged with kidnapping or another criminal offense in Bergen County, New Jersey contact the law offices of The Tormey Law Firm to speak with one of our attorneys. We are consistently available to provide a free analysis of your case and can be reached at (201)-330-4979.
Kidnapping in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1
Under the New Jersey Criminal Code, kidnapping charges are detailed N.J.S.A. 2C:13-1, which sets forth:
§ 2C:13-1. Kidnapping
a. Holding for ransom, reward or as a hostage. A person is guilty of kidnapping if he unlawfully removes another from the place where he is found or if he unlawfully confines another with the purpose of holding that person for ransom or reward or as a shield or hostage.
b. Holding for other purposes. A person is guilty of kidnapping if he unlawfully removes another from his place of residence or business, or a substantial distance from the vicinity where he is found, or if he unlawfully confines another for a substantial period, with any of the following purposes:
(1) To facilitate commission of any crime or flight thereafter;
(2) To inflict bodily injury on or to terrorize the victim or another;
(3) To interfere with the performance of any governmental or political function; or
(4) To permanently deprive a parent, guardian or other lawful custodian of custody of the victim.
Penalties for Kidnapping in New Jersey
Kidnapping is a very serious charge in New Jersey and is typically classified as a first or second degree crime. However, due to the egregiousness of these offenses, the sentencing guidelines for those convicted are far more stringent that those associated with typical first degree crimes under New Jersey Law.
If certain aggravating factors apply, kidnapping is a crime of the first degree, punishable by a period of incarceration between 25 years and life, of which the actor shall be required to serve 25 years before being eligible for parole; or a term of 25 years during the entirety of which the actor shall not be eligible for parole.
Otherwise, Kidnapping is a crime of the first degree, punishable by a period of incarceration between 15 and 30 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (“NERA”).
If the actor releases the victim unharmed and in a safe place prior to apprehension, kidnapping is considered a crime of the second degree, punishable by between 5 and 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under NERA.
Contact The Tormey Law Firm in Hackensack NJ
The Bergen County defense attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are available every day to provide free consultations and/or to schedule an appointment at our convenient Hackensack, New Jersey office location. Contact us at (201)-330-4979 to discuss your case, or submit an online contact form.