Bergen County NJ Defense Attorneys: Mandatory Drug Penalties in New Jersey
Bergenfield NJ Drug Crimes Defense Lawyers
Due to the seriousness with which New Jersey addresses controlled dangerous substances, the State has implemented a number of mandatory penalties, which must be imposed in cases involving certain drug offenses. These consequences can involve financial penalties, prison sentences, and a period of driver’s license suspension, not to mention devastating repercussions for your reputation and stress for you and your loved ones. Fortunately, with an experienced defense attorney in your corner, you do not have to simply submit to these punishments without a fight. The attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm are passionate about the presumption of innocence and we dedicate ourselves to protecting our clients.
Whether you have been charged with DWI, possession of marijuana, cocaine distribution, or another criminal or traffic offense, we will ensure that your best interests are served throughout the adjudication process. Our extensive experience representing clients in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey, including in Edgewater, Emerson, and Englewood Cliffs provides us with unparalleled insight into the New Jersey Justice System. Allow us to employ these resources to help you or someone you love overcome a charge and move on with your life. We are available to assist you immediately. Simply contact our Hackensack, New Jersey offices at (201)-330-4979. Consultations are always provided free of charge.
Mandatory Drug Penalties in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15
If you are convicted of a drug offense in New Jersey, there are some mandatory penalties associated with the crime. These are governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-15, which provides:
A defendant convicted for any Chapter 35 (Controlled Dangerous Substances) and Chapter 36 (Drug Paraphernalia) drug offense is responsible for the following mandatory financial penalties:
- $3,000.00 for a first degree crime;
- $2,000.00 for a second degree crime;
- $1,000.00 for a third degree crime;
- $750.00 for a fourth degree crime;
- $500.00 for a disorderly persons (DP) or petty disorderly persons (PDP offense).
Suspension of your Driver’s License for Drug Offenses in New Jersey
The aforementioned statute further provides:
A person convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for a violation of any offense defined in this chapter 35 (Controlled Dangerous Substances) or chapter 36 (Drug Paraphernalia) of this title shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period to be fixed by the court at not less than six months or more than two years which shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed unless the court finds compelling circumstances warranting an exception.
Contact the Bergen County, NJ Offices of The Tormey Law Firm for a Free Consultation
As you can see, the penalties for a drug conviction can be severe. As a result, it is imperative that you contact an experienced drug crime defense lawyer to represent you. An experienced criminal defense lawyer may be able to argue for a hardship exception for the driver’s license suspension in order to keep your license. Travis Tormey has years of experience representing clients charged with these types of offenses and he has handled thousands of criminal and DWI cases. Contact his Hackensack, New Jersey offices anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.