Lyndhurst Possession and Distribution of Suboxone Defense Lawyers
Charged with Possession of Suboxone Bergen County – Need an Attorney?
Suboxone is the brand name for an opioid medication that is typically used to treat narcotic addiction. Suboxone contains a combination of buprenorphine and naloxone. Suboxone is typically prescribed in tablet form, with the tablet placed under the tongue until dissolving. Unfortunately, although Suboxone has very beneficial legal uses, it is easy to become dependent on the drug. As a result, many people with legitimate medical reasons for using Suboxone become unduly addicted to the drug. Because of the high rate of abuse of Suboxone, New Jersey prosecutors will often seek to impose the maximum punishments in Suboxone cases.
The Tormey Law Firm has defended countless clients accused of drug crimes in Bergen County and throughout New Jersey, including prescription fraud, OxyContin possession, and heroin possession in towns such as Lyndhurst, Lodi, and Paramus. We have successfully represented numerous clients charged with Suboxone possession and intent to distribute Suboxone. Achieving positive results and developing solid relationships with our clients are our primary concerns as we seek the best possible outcome in each case. A former client of ours put it this way: “I hired this law firm to handle something very sensitive. They did an exceptional job. The response time and follow up were unmatched.” To read more of what our clients say about us, view some of our clients reviews on Avvo.com. And if you have been accused of a drug-related offense in New Jersey, contact us today at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation. You can also continue reading this page to learn more about Suboxone charges in New Jersey.
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5 Suboxone Law in New Jersey
In New Jersey, it is illegal to carry prescription drugs and certain medications unless you already hold a valid prescription. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10.5, possession and/or distribution of Suboxone is prohibited unless carried out by a licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, or pharmacist. The Controlled Substance Act classifies Suboxone as a Schedule III controlled dangerous substance (CDS). Schedule III drugs have an accepted medical use but can lead to moderate physical dependence and high psychological dependence. The penalties for possession or distribution of Suboxone vary, depending on the number of pills that are seized.
Second Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
The most serious charge you can face is second degree intent to distribute Suboxone. This is typically the charge if the offender possesses 100 or more pills and does so for financial gain. If convicted of this charge, you could be looking at five (5) to ten (10) years in New Jersey State Prison, with a presumption of incarceration. Additionally, a conviction could result in a $300,000.00 fine.
Third Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
In New Jersey, possession of between five (5) and 99 Suboxone pills without a valid prescription is a third degree crime. If you are convicted of third degree possession of Suboxone, you could be looking at a sentence of between three (3) and five (5) years in New Jersey State Prison and a fine of up to $200,000.00.
Fourth Degree: Suboxone Possession, Possession with Intent to Distribute, Distribution
If you possess four (4) or fewer pills, it is classified as a fourth degree felony. This can be punishable by up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Suboxone Possession
In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:35-24, possession of four (4) or fewer Suboxone pills is a disorderly persons offense. This essentially means that if you are caught with a pill outside the bottle or container in which it was dispensed, you could be charged with disorderly persons possession of Suboxone. Beyond that, just being under the influence of Suboxone in public without a valid prescription can be a disorderly persons offense. If convicted of this charge, you could be looking at up to six (6) months in the county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Disorderly Persons Offense: Failure to Turn Over Suboxone to a Police Officer
Another related charge is failure to turn over Suboxone to a law enforcement officer. As set forth by N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(c), failing to turn over drugs to police is a disorderly persons offense. Many times, this will be a downgraded charge that prosecutors use in a Suboxone case. If convicted of this charge, you face up to six (6) months in the county jail, a $1,000.00 fine, and suspension of your driver’s license for at least six (6) months.
Call Our Bergen County Suboxone Defense Lawyers for Immediate Assistance
The good news is that there are defenses available to a Suboxone charge and multiple diversionary programs that serve as viable alternatives to prosecution for these charges, such as the Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) program or the conditional discharge program. Contact the Hackensack offices of The Tormey Law Firm today to discuss your Suboxone charges and to find out if you may be eligible for a diversionary program in New Jersey. Our attorneys are available to provide immediate assistnace. Simply call (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.