Englewood City NJ Receiving Stolen Property Defense Lawyers
Criminal Defense Attorneys in Bergen County, New Jersey
Receiving stolen property is a serious criminal charge in New Jersey which can result in fines, jail time, probation, and a permanent criminal charge on your record if convicted of this offense. In addition, if the property was not recovered or destroyed, the defendant is usually required to pay restitution in the amount of the property that was received.
The Tormey Law Firm is comprised of a group of highly experienced criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI) attorneys who have served on behalf of countless clients throughout New Jersey, in municipalities such as Montvale, Ridgewood, and Elmwood Park. The firm’s founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, and the seasoned attorneys on his staff appear in both Superior and Municipal Courts throughout Bergen County and northern New Jersey every day, as they tirelessly fight for the rights of those charged with offenses including check fraud, robbery, and burglary. In fact, Mr. Tormey was featured in the Daily Record in Morris County regarding several shoplifting cases he handled and the immigration consequences and penalties involved.
With offices conveniently located in Hackensack and Morristown, the talented criminal defense team at The Tormey Law Firm is available immediately to assist you. If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal offense or motor vehicle violation in Bergen County, New Jersey, call (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.
Receiving Stolen Property in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7
In New Jersey, N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7 governs charges for receiving stolen property. The statute provides, in pertinent part:
§ 2C:20-7. Receiving Stolen Property
a. Receiving. A person is guilty of theft if he knowingly receives or brings into this State movable property of another knowing that it has been stolen, or believing that it is probably stolen. It is an affirmative defense that the property was received with purpose to restore it to the owner. “Receiving” means acquiring possession, control or title, or lending on the security of the property.
b. Presumption of knowledge. The requisite knowledge or belief is presumed in the case of a person who:
(1) Is found in possession or control of two or more items of property stolen on two or more separate occasions; or
(2) Has received stolen property in another transaction within the year preceding the transaction charged; or
(3) Being a person in the business of buying or selling property of the sort received, acquires the property without having ascertained by reasonable inquiry that the person from whom he obtained it had a legal right to possess and dispose of it; or
(4) Is found in possession of two or more defaced access devices.
Penalties for Receiving Stolen Property in New Jersey
Receiving stolen property charges are graded based on the value of the property which was allegedly stolen. These charges can be indictable in nature, meaning that they must be handled at the Superior Court in the county in which the alleged offense occurred. On the other hand, they can also be municipal criminal charges known as disorderly persons offenses, which will be handled in the local municipal court.
The grading of receiving stolen property charges is as follows:
- Second Degree: $75,000.00 or more (punishable by five (5) to ten (10) years in state prison)
- Third Degree: Amount between $1,000.00 and $75,000.00 (punishable by three (3) to five (5) years in state prison)
- Fourth Degree: Amount between $200.00 and $500.00 (punishable by up to 18 months in state prison)
- Disorderly Persons Offense: Amount less than $200.00 (punishable by up to six (6) months in the county jail)
Call the Bergen County NJ Defense Attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with receiving stolen property or another criminal offense in New Jersey, contact our Bergen County offices anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.