Theft of Movable Property
Theft Criminal Defense near Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Bergen County NJ Attorneys
Theft of movable property is a serious criminal charge in New Jersey punishable by fines, probation, jail time, and a permanent criminal charge on your record if convicted. If the theft is under $200, this charge will be handled in the local Municipal Court as a misdemeanor (known as a disorderly persons offense). Anything over $200 will be graded as a felony charge and handled in the Superior Court.
Travis J. Tormey is an experienced criminal defense lawyer who has spent years representing clients charged with theft and fraud offenses, including check fraud, forgery, and theft by deception in Lodi, Lyndhurst, and Hackensack. In fact, Mr. Tormey was featured in the Daily Record in Morris County regarding several shoplifting cases he handled and the immigration consequences and penalties involved. If you or a loved one has been charged with a criminal offense in New Jersey, contact Mr. Tormey anytime at (201)-330-4979 for immediate assistance. This consultation is provided free of charge.
Theft of Movable Property: N.J.S.A. 20-3
In New Jersey, N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3 governs theft of movable property charges and provides, in pertinent part:
§ 2C:20-3. Theft of Movable Property
Movable property. A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully takes, or exercises unlawful control over, movable property of another with purpose to deprive him thereof.
Grading of Theft by Unlawful Taking Offenses
Theft of Movable Property offenses in New Jersey are graded as follows:
- Second Degree: $75,000.00 or more (punishable by five (5) to ten (10) years in state prison)
- Third Degree: Amount between $500.00 and $75,000.00 (punishable by three (3) to five (5) years in state prison)
- Fourth Degree: Amount between $200.00 and $500.00 (punishable by up to 18 months in state prison)
- Disorderly Persons Offense: Amount less than $200.00 (punishable by up to six (6) months in the county jail)
Second degree, third degree, and fourth degree criminal charges are indictable in nature and must be handled at the Superior Court in the county in which the alleged offense was committed. Disorderly persons charges will be handled in the local municipal court.
Need a Theft of Movable Property Charge Lawyer in Bergen County NJ? Contact our Office Today
If you or a loved one has been charged with theft of movable property or another criminal offense in New Jersey, contact our Morristown or Paramus offices anytime at (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.