Teaneck NJ Carjacking Defense Attorneys

Criminal Defense Lawyers with Offices in Bergen County, New Jersey

The Tormey Law Firm is comprised of a group of highly experienced criminal defense and drunk driving (DWI) attorneys who have served on behalf of countless clients throughout New Jersey, in municipalities such as Teaneck, Rutherford, and Saddle Brook. The firm’s founding partner, Travis J. Tormey, and the seasoned attorneys on his staff appear in both Superior and Municipal Courts throughout Bergen County and northern New Jersey every day, as they tirelessly fight for the rights of those charged with offenses including carjacking, robbery, burglary, and assault by auto. Our frequent court appearances have allowed us to develop solid relationships with local prosecutors and judges, which often serves as a significant advantage as we work to achieve the best possible outcome for our clients.

With offices conveniently located in Hackensack and Morristown, the talented criminal defense team at The Tormey Law Firm is available immediately to assist you. If you or someone you love has been charged with a criminal offense or motor vehicle violation in Bergen County, New Jersey, call (201)-330-4979 for a free consultation.


Carjacking Charges in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:15-2

Charges for carjacking are detailed in the New Jersey criminal code under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-2, which states the following:

§ 2C:15-2. Carjacking

a. Carjacking defined. A person is guilty of carjacking if in the course of committing an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle, as defined in R.S.39:1-1, or in an attempt to commit an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle he:

(1) inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon an occupant or person in possession or control of a motor vehicle;
(2) threatens an occupant or person in control with, or purposely or knowingly puts an occupant or person in control of the motor vehicle in fear of, immediate bodily injury;
(3) commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree; or
(4) operates or causes said vehicle to be operated with the person who was in possession or control or was an occupant of the motor vehicle at the time of the taking remaining in the vehicle.

An act shall be deemed to be “in the course of committing an unlawful taking of a motor vehicle” if it occurs during an attempt to commit the unlawful taking of a motor vehicle or during an immediate flight after the attempt or commission.

b. Grading. Carjacking is a crime of the first degree and upon conviction thereof a person may, notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1) of subsection a. of N.J.S.2C:43-6, be sentenced to an ordinary term of imprisonment between 10 and 30 years. A person convicted of carjacking shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment and that term of imprisonment shall include the imposition of a minimum term of at least five years during which the defendant shall be ineligible for parole.


Penalties for Carjacking in New Jersey 

Under New Jersey Law, a conviction for carjacking entails an extended term of imprisonment which is considerably longer than the typical sentencing range associated with first degree charges. As the above statute indicates, if you are convicted of carjacking in New Jersey, you are facing up to 30 years in New Jersey State Prison, including a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of five (5) years during which you are ineligible for parole. These penalties are significantly more severe than those for other first degree crimes, which are generally punishable by a term of incarceration ranging from 10 to 20 years.


Call the Bergen County NJ Defense Attorneys at The Tormey Law Firm for a Free Consultation

With the catastrophic consequences stated previously hanging over your head, consulting with an aggressive defense attorney is more of a necessity than a luxury when you are faced with carjacking charges. There are a number of elements that the prosecution must demonstrate in order to prove a carjacking offense beyond a reasonable doubt. An adept criminal defense lawyer can combat these charges by formulating a comprehensive rebuttal to the State’s argument. Contact the law offices of The Tormey Law Firm, conveniently located in Hackensack, New Jersey, if you have been charged with carjacking in Bergen County. One of our attorneys is always available to provide free consultations at (201)-330-4979.


If you’ve been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.