Cliffside Park Simple Assault Charges Dropped

Local Domestic Violence Attorneys in Bergen County, New Jersey

Help Arrested Simple Assault NJ 2C:12-1a NJ
Simple Assault Charges NJ

Simple assault charges arising out of a domestic violence call are very common. Many times the police file charges even when the parties do not want to proceed with any arrests.

The criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm LLC recently represented a client in the Cliffside Park Municipal Court located in Cliffside Park, New Jersey. The Cliffside Park Municipal Court has jurisdiction over traffic violations (including DWI), local ordinance violations (town code violations), and disorderly persons criminal offenses (misdemeanor). With offices in Hackensack, NJ, the criminal defense attorneys at the Tormey Law Firm LLC represent clients charged with criminal and traffic violations throughout Bergen County NJ including in Cliffside Park, Mahwah, Ridgefield Park, and Elmwood Park.

If you or a loved one needs assistance with a criminal charge in Bergen County NJ, contact our Hackensack offices for immediate assistance at (201)-330-4979.

In this case, the client was charged with simple assault, a disorderly persons offense in violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a) which, if convicted, could include the following penalties:

  • Up to a $1,000 fine
  • Up to six (6) months in the Bergen County Jail
  • A permanent criminal charge on her record
  • Probation
  • Immigration consequences

Since our client was not a United States citizen, she also could face serious immigration consequences if convicted of this offense. The facts of the case were as follows: Our client was a young Korean woman who married a US citizen and had a young child together. She had only been in the country a couple years but this was clearly an abusive relationship she was involved in. However, when the police came to their apartment, because the husband was the only one with “visible injuries”, namely a scratch on his arm, our client was charged with simple assault. Once we received the police reports and showed the prosecutor that, in fact, our client was the victim of domestic violence and not the aggressor, the prosecutor agreed to dismiss the case. The case was carried for 90 days to ensure there were no other domestic violence calls to the residence and then the charges were dismissed. This was crucial to keep our client’s record client and to ensure that she had no problems with immigration. We then referred her to a divorce attorney so that she could remove herself from this abusive relationship she was involved in.

False Domestic Violence Arrest in Bergen County NJ?

This was a great result for the client and our law firm. If you or a loved one needs assistance with a simple assault charge in Bergen County NJ, contact our Hackensack offices now for a free initial consultation.


If you’ve been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.