Englewood NJ Harassment Charges Dismissed under NJSA 2C:33-4

Englewood Harassment Charges NJSA 2C:33-4

Petty Disorderly Persons Offense of Harassment in Englewood Municipal Court

Englewood NJ Criminal Lawyers
Englewood NJ Criminal Lawyers

Do you need an attorney for a harassment criminal charge in Englewood court? Contact us now for immediate assistance.

Our Bergen County NJ criminal defense team scored another win in Englewood Municipal Court, achieving a dismissal of harassment charges, a petty disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor). Our client was accused of using coarse and offensive language towards a neighbor, who called the police after a verbal dispute. After the police arrived, the victim explained that our client allegedly called the victim insulting names in a loud manner and that she felt harassed by the conduct. Due to these allegations, our client was arrested and charged with a petty disorderly persons offense of harassment. Ultimately, the case was heard in the Englewood municipal court and the Tormey Law Firm achieved the best possible outcome: a dismissal.

The New Jersey Criminal Code, specifically N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4, sets forth that a person commits a petty disorderly persons offense of harassment if, with purpose to harass another, he makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm; subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person. Additionally, the statute establishes that a person commits a fourth degree crime (felony) of harassment if, in committing an act of harassment, he was serving a term of imprisonment or was on parole or probation as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense.

The penalties for a petty disorderly persons offense of harassment include up to a $500 fine and up to thirty days in the county jail. Additionally, if found guilty, there will be a permanent record of the petty disorderly persons offense on your background check or criminal history. Fortunately for our client, we were able to resolve the case in an amicable manner that avoided the need for a trial and resulted in dismissal of the charge. However, there is still an arrest record that appears on his background. Now, because the charges were dismissed, he is immediately eligible to file an expungement and have the arrest removed from his record. The expungement process takes about 3-4 months and you should consult with an attorney if you are interested in having an arrest record expunged.

Arrested for Harassment in Englewood? Call Us Now

Our harassment defense lawyers have successfully defended clients accused of harassment in municipal and superior courts across New Jersey. If you have been charged with harassment as the result of an alleged physical or verbal altercation or any other alleged course of conduct, you should call us to learn about the potential consequences and, more importantly, how we can help defend you and achieve the best possible outcome for your case.


If you’ve been charged with a criminal offense, disorderly persons offense, or traffic / DWI violation, you have the right to an attorney who will defend you against your charges and fight for your best interests. To learn more about how your attorney can fight to have your charges dismissed or reduced, click a link below to see our video library of legal defenses and strategies.